University of Notre Dame
Browse
1/1
3 files

Château de Malmaison: Large cedar tree in the park of the Château

figure
posted on 2017-06-30, 00:00 authored by G. Massiot & cie
Originally built by Christophe Perrot in 1622. It was formerly the residence of Joséphine de Beauharnais, (later the Empress) and with the Tuileries, was from 1800 to 1802 the headquarters of the French government. It is the most complete expression of the Consulate style, and owed more perhaps to the taste of Empress Josephine than to Napoleon. Fontaine and Percier were received at Malmaison on 31 December 1799 and presented to First Consul Bonaparte by the painter Jacques-Louis David. They worked on refurbishing Malmaison from 1800 to 1802. Joséphine endeavored to transform the large estate into “the most beautiful and curious garden in Europe, a model of good cultivation”. It had extensive greenhouses and achieved enduring fame for its rose garden.

History

Date Created

1910-01-01

Date Modified

2017-06-30

Spatial Coverage

Rueil-Malmaison +48.870833+2.166944 Rueil-Malmaison Île-de-France, France: about 12 km (7 mi) from Paris

Temporal Coverage

before or circa 1910

Cultural Context

['Nineteenth century', 'Empire']

Rights Statement

To view the physical lantern slide, please contact the Architecture Library.

Usage metrics

    Rare Books and Special Collections

    Categories

    No categories selected

    Exports

    RefWorks
    BibTeX
    Ref. manager
    Endnote
    DataCite
    NLM
    DC